Circumstances force Foundation to change date of Wall of Honour dinner

Circumstances force Foundation to change date of Wall of Honour dinner

Circumstances force Foundation to change date of Wall of Honour dinner

The Western Canada Professional Hockey Scouts Foundation has had to change the date of its inaugural Wall of Honour induction dinner.

Originally scheduled for July 29, the gala affair has been moved to Tuesday, July 30. It will be held in the Centennial Arena in Okotoks, Alta.

The Foundation scheduled the dinner in conjunction with Hockey Canada’s Under-18 camp that is to be held in Calgary, July 27-30. The Foundation was of the understanding that the evening of July 29 would be clear of camp events, but it turns out there is a Red/White game scheduled for that window. That game will tie up a number of scouts who otherwise would be in attendance at the dinner.

“Unfortunately, we have had to move our banquet to July 30,” said Ross Mahoney, the Foundation’s vice-president who is the Washington Capitals’ assistant general manager. “Out of respect for Hockey Canada and the U18 Gretzky/Hlinka summer camp, we will move it from July 29 to July 30. A number of scouts including some of our honourees will be in attendance at the camp.”

The Wall of Honour, which is to be permanently located in the arena’s foyer, will be unveiled prior to the dinner. The first class of inductees is to include 45 past and present scouts.

The evening also will include a couple of Hot Stove sessions featuring the likes of Ken Holland, the Edmonton Oilers’ president of hockey operations and general manager; John Davidson, president of hockey operations and interim general manager with the Columbus Blue Jackets; Dr. Hayley Wickenheiser, an assistant general manager with the Toronto Maple Leafs; and Craig Button, TSN’s director of scouting.

Ticket information, including prices for singles and tables, and how to acquire them, will be announced on our website in the near future:


The complete list of inductees (* — denotes deceased):

SPECIAL RECOGNITION: *-Garnet (Ace) Bailey.

PIONEERS (Prior to 1967): *-George Agar, *-Frank Currie, *-Murray (Torchy) Schell, *-Danny Summers, *-Cecil (Tiny) Thompson.

EARLY ERA (1968-80): *-Elmer Benning, *-Bart Bradley, *-Lorne Davis, *-Gerry Ehman, *-Barry Fraser, *-Pat (Paddy) Ginnell, Ted Hampson, *-Charlie Hodge, Earl Ingarfield Sr., *-Lou Jankowski, Marshall Johnston, Bill Lesuk, *-Ian McKenzie, *-Gerry Melnyk, Bob Owen, *-Clare Rothermel, *-Del Wilson.

MODERN ERA (1981-present): Scott Bradley, Craig Button, John Chapman, George Fargher, Tony Feltrin, Bruce Franklin, Bruce Haralson, Archie Henderson, Les Jackson, Vaughn Karpan, Ross Mahoney, Bert

Marshall, Wayne Meier, Al Murray, Gerry O’Flaherty, Kevin Prendergast, Blair Reid, Glen Sanders, Peter Sullivan, Barry Trapp.

MAJOR JUNIOR: Lorne Frey, *-Graham Tuer.

As well, five scouts from Western Canada were honoured with the Recognition and Dedication Service Award at the Foundation’s startup banquet in Okotoks on Sept. 30. Those five are Ron Delorme, Glen Dirk, Garth Malarchuk, Don Paarup and Mike Penny.


The Western Canada Professional Hockey Scouts Foundation is a non-profit organization comprising NHL scouts from Western Canada and a group of committed individuals from the hockey community. It feels a strong obligation to honour scouts, past and present, and a commitment to give back to charities, communities and individuals who could benefit from the support and financial assistance.


Gregg Drinnan, WCPHSF editor and historian

[email protected]